Publish date22 Mar 2023 - 11:26
Story Code : 587803

Islamic, Arab countries mark beginning of Ramadan on Thursday

A number of Muslim and Arab countries have announced March 23 as the beginning of the fasting month of Ramadan.
Islamic, Arab countries mark beginning of Ramadan on Thursday
Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Palestine, Egypt and Iran have announced that the holy month of Ramadan begins on Thursday March 23, Taqrib News Agency (TNA) reported Al Jazeera as saying.
The Supreme Court of Saudi Arabia, Observation committee of Kuwait and grand mufti of Palestine announced Wednesday as the last day of Shaban and Thursday would mark the first day of Ramadan.
Iraqi sources, the Sunni Awqaf (Endowment) office and top Shia cleric, Ayatollah Sistani, also approved that the fasting month of Ramadan will commence on Thursday.
Sharia council of Syria, Lebanon, Sudan, Egypt, Libya, Iran and Tunisia will mark the first day of Ramadan on Thursday.
Religious officials in Oman, Jordan, Mauritania, Algeria, and Morocco will make announcements either Thursday or Friday as the beginning for fasting month of Ramadan.
Muslims abstain from eating and drinking during Ramadan from dawn to dusk, Qur’an recitation, charity activities and prayers are especially observed by Muslim during this month.
Your Name
Your Email Address
Security Code